Pirelli World Challenge Making Special Offers for MRLS Finale To Touring Car Classes A and B Entries

New parameters for TCA, TCB in Rounds 11 and 12

AUSTIN, Texas – Pirelli World Challenge is making the final race of the season – Oct. 13-14 at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca — easier to enter than ever.

“This is the last TCB race for our series and we wanted to make sure that as many of the cars could be eligible to race at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca,” said PWC Touring Car Series Manager Jim Jordan. “We also want to make it easy for any of the Global Mazda MX-5 Cup teams to cross over from their series. And also bring back some cars that have not competed with us this year.”

The final Pirelli World Challenge Touring Car event of the 2017 season will feature three Touring Car divisions – TC, TCA and TCB – and will be part of the SRO California 8-Hour International Challenge at MRLS.

In addition, the series will not require these new Mazda MX-5 entries to run Hard Tops.

“Since we have a separate race for TC and then TCA/TCB, we have plenty of room on the grid for drivers that want to check out the Pirelli World Challenge,” commented Jordan. “I think they will really enjoy the experience and what better track to drive on than Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca.”

For the MRLS weekend only, TCA and TCB class cars, which have not entered a previous race in 2017, will not be required to add the Motec Data Logging system. Instead, the series will accept AIM Data Loggers or Race Keeper systems for data.

The entry deadline for the Pirelli World Challenge finale at MRLS is September 1.

The Touring Car races at the PWC Finale at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca are set for Saturday, Oct. 14, with Round 11 TCA/TCB set for 9:00 a.m. PDT and Round 11 TC at 9:50 a.m. PDT. Rounds 12 of the TCA/TCB division is scheduled at 2:05 p.m. PDT with the TC category beginning at 4:00 p.m. PDT.

The 2017 Pirelli World Challenge Touring Car Awards Banquet will be held at the Embassy Suites in Seaside, Calif., on Saturday, Oct. 14, at 6:00 p.m. for cocktails, dinner and awards at 7 p.m.