Three Mercedes-AMG cars clocked the three fastest average times during qualifying for the Laguna Seca Raceway California 8 Hours. The fifteen fastest cars – all GT3 machines – will now participate in the Pole Shootout session later today.

1st GTC : #6 US RaceTronics Lamborghini
1st GT4 : #51 Team Panoz Racing Avezzano
1st TCR : #99 Bryan Herta Autosport Hyundai

It was no surprise that the fifteen fastest cars of the qualifying sessions proved to be all GT3 machines. The fastest average time was set by the drivers of the #43 Mercedes-AMG Strakka Racing machine, just edging in front of their Mercedes-AMG colleagues of the #175 Mercedes-AMG Team SunEnergy1 Racing and the #44 Strakka Racing machines. Eleven of the GT3 cars were within the same second on average, which holds a lot of promise for this afternoon’s Pole Shootout.

The class pole positions were also decided in the Qualifying session. In GTC the #6 US RaceTronics Lamborghini was quickest, GT4 pole position goes to the #51 Team Panoz Racing Avezzano, while TCR honours were taken by the #99 Bryan Herta Autosport Hyundai.