Hyundai TCR Pair Mark Wilkins, Michael Lewis Take 1-2 in Inaugural TCR Qualifying at COTA

Veterans Eversley & Jensen Make Up Row 2 with Honda & Alfa Romeo

Austin, Texas – The Hyundai i30 N TCR duo of Mark Wilkins and Michael Lewis made history Saturday at Circuit of the Americas (COTA) by taking 1-2 front row starting spots in qualifying for the inaugural Pirelli World Challenge TCR class racing weekend.

Wilkins, driving the No. 99 Bryan Herta Autosport with Curb-Agajanian Hyundai i30 N TCR, scored the first TCR pole position with a time of two minutes, 18.914 seconds (88.91 miles per hour) in another strong performance with a car which hadn’t turned a lap until this past Thursday.

Lewis, in the No. 98 Bryan Herta Autosport with Curb-Agajanian Hyundai i30 N TCR, rounded out the front row of the 14-car field with a 2:19.252 (88.69 m.p.h.) followed by GT veteran Ryan Eversley in the No. 43 RealTime Racing Honda Civic Type-R TCR at 2:19.314 (88.65 m.p.h.) and Denmark’s Martin Jensen in the No. 70 Alfatcr.USA Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR at 2:20.195 (88.09 m.p.h.).

Rounding out the top five was Jerimy Daniel in the No. 2 The Racing Company Audi Sport RS3 LMS at 2:20.549 (87.87 m.p.h.).

Sixth through tenth were Michael Hurczyn (No. 71 FCP Euro by HRP Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR), Mason Filippi (No. 12 TFB Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR), Anthony Geraci (No. 69 Heinlein Racing Development Audi Sport RS3 LMS), Nate Vincent (No. 72 FCP Euro by HRP Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR) and Jarett Andretti (No. 18 Copeland Motorsports Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR).

The TCA pole winner is Bryan Ortiz in the No. 4 Copeland Motorsports Mazda Global MX-5 Cup with a 2:33.372 (80.52 m.p.h.).

Round 1 of the TCR/TCA classes will be held Saturday at 4:55 p.m. CDT and will be live streamed on