ELKHART LAKE, Wis. – Recent 24 Hours of Le Mans winner Michael Christensen of Denmark continued his impressive GT performances Friday at famed Road America by driving the No. 24 Alegra Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R to the top position in the Pirelli World Challenge GT/GTS Practice 1 session.

Christensen, winner of the GTE Pro division with Kevin Estre and Laurens Vanthoor in a Porsche 911 GT3 R last Sunday at Le Mans, recorded a best time of two minutes, 6.263 seconds for an average speed of 114.44 miles per hour over the historic 4-mile, 14-turn permanent road circuit north of Milwaukee.
Christensen teamed with Spencer Pumpelly in the last PWC GT event at Lime Rock Park on Memorial Day in the GT SprintX 60-minute event with the No. 24 Alegra Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R.

Second in the first PWC GT practice round was CTMP Sprint race 1 winner Daniel Morad of Canada in the No. 2 CRP Racing/DeVilbiss Mercedes-AMG GT3 at 2:06.963 (113.81 m.p.h.) followed by CTMP GT race 2 winner Alvaro Parente of Portugal in the No. 9 K-PAX Racing Bentley Continental GT3 with a 2:07.440 (113.38 m.p.h.), current GT Overall point leader Toni Vilander of Finland in the No. 61 R. Ferri Motorsport Ferrari 488 GT3 at 2:08.751 (112.23 m.p.h.) and Long Beach GT Sprint race winner Daniel Mancinelli of Italy at 2:08.796 (112.19 m.p.h.).

In a wild stat, the top eight GT drivers Friday morning were from eight different countries including Rodrigo Baptista of Brazil in sixth, Martin Fuentes of Mexico in seventh and Anthony Imperato of Brooklyn, N.Y. in eighth.

The next practice session for the GT/GTS classes is set for 12 p.m. CDT.

In the GTS category, defending GTS champion Lawson Aschenbach of Palm Beach Gardens, Fla., drove his No. 1 Blackdog Speed Shop Chevrolet Camaro GT4.R to the lead spot Friday morning with a 2:19.366 (103.68 m.p.h.). Aschenbach is undefeated in the GTS Sprint competition this year with double wins at the streets of St. Petersburg, Fla., and Canadian Tire Motorsport Park.

Second in GTS was two-time GTS SprintX race winner Jade Buford of Nashville, Tenn., in the No. 55 PF Racing Ford Mustang GT4 at 2:20.238 (103.04 m.p.h.), last year’s Road America GTS double race winner Ian James of Paradise Valley, Ariz., in the No. 50 Team Panoz Racing Panoz Avezzano GT at 2:21.05 (102.47 m.p.h.), Alan Brynjolfson of Tampa, Fla., the leading GTSA driver, in the No. 77 Volt Racing Ford Mustang GT4 at 2:21.149 (102.37 m.p.h.) and recent Lime Rock Park GTS Overall race winner Drew Staveley of Salt Lake City, Utah, in the No. 12 Ian Lacy Racing Ginetta G55 at 2:21.212 (102.33 m.p.h.)