Weisberg’s Mazda Loses Pole to Technical Infraction; Wittmer, Travis, Nimkoff Round-Out Top Three

LAKEVILLE, Conn. – The Touring Car pole winner John Weisberg was disqualified from the Friday qualifying round due to a technical infraction with his No. 51 BERG Racing Mazda MX5 TC Spec car.
Weisberg will start at the back of the Touring Car starting grid in Race 1 Saturday set for 12:45 p.m. EDT.

Karl Wittmer, the veteran from Montreal, Que., Canada, in the No. 91 Classic BMW BMW M235iR Cup moves into P1 for the race with a time of 57.164 seconds for an average speed of 92.82 miles per hour. Wittmer’s Classic BMW teammate, Matt Travis of The Woodlands, Tex., completed the front row for Saturday’s Race 1 with a 57.207 (92.75 m.p.h.) in his No. 26 Classic BMW BMW M235iR.

Robert Nimkoff of nearby Newtown, Conn., was the fastest TC driver in the practice sessions Friday at Lime Rock Park but had to settle for third in qualifying with the No. 20 AutoTechnic BMW M235iR Cup sedan at a time of 57.301 (92.60 m.p.h.).

Current TC point leader Vesko Kozarov of Salt Lake City, Utah, in the No. 3 Rearden Racing Nissan 370Z TC Spec was fourth in TC time trials at 57.400 (92.44 m.p.h.) followed by veteran Jeff Ricca of nearby Milford, Conn., in the No. 78 GenRacer Genesis Coupe at 57.494 (92.29 m.p.h), VIR TC race winner Steve Streimer of Portland, Ore., in the No. 23 TechSport Racing Nissan 370Z TC Spec at 57.582 (92.15 m.p.h.) and another VIR race winner Johan Schwartz of Huntersville, N.C., in the No. 80 Rooster Hall Racing BMW M235iR Cup at 57.764 (91.86 m.p.h.).

Touring Car 40-minute events are set for Saturday with Race 1 12:45 p.m. EDT and Race 2 at 5:15 p.m. EDT.

UPDATED: 5/26/2018 9:45am EDT to reflect technical infractions