KTM X-Bow’s Nicolai Elghanayan Steals GTS SprintX Pole Position Saturday at Lime Rock

LAKEVILLE, Conn. – A surprise pole winner highlighted the GTS SprintX qualifying session Saturday at Lime Rock Park when Am driver Nicolai Elghanayan of Laguna Beach, Calif., drove his No. 71 MarcoPolo Motorsports KTM X-Bow to the top position in the Pirelli World Challenge Grand Prix of Lime Rock powered by M.

Elghanayan led all of the Am class drivers in time trials with a best lap of 54.407 seconds at an average speed of 97.53 miles per hour to start on the pole for Monday’s first of two 60-minute GTS SprintX events.

Second in the 32-car field was three-time GTSA race winner Drew Staveley of Salt Lake City, Utah, in the No. 12 Ian Lacy Racing Ginetta G55 with 54.497 seconds (97.37 m.p.h.) followed by Germany’s Moritz Kranz in the No. 21 Muehlner Motorsports America Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport MR at 54.582 (97.21 m.p.h.).

Rounding out the top-five in GTS SprintX qualifying was young Patrick Gallagher of Thornton, Ohio, in the No. 55 PF Racing Ford Mustang GT4 at 54.675 (97.05 m.p.h.) and Randy Mueller of Miami, Fla., in the No. 3 Epic Motorsports BMW M4 GT4 at 54.856 (96.73 m.p.h.).

Matt Travis of The Woodlands, Tex., was sixth in the NOLASport Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport MR followed by veteran Mike Hedlund of Redwood City, Calif., in the No. 45 Flying Lizard Motorsports/Opti-Coat Audi R8 LMS GT4, Matt Keegan of Santa Rosa, Calif., in the No. 50 Team Panoz Racing Panoz Avezzano GT, 18-year-old Harry Gottsacker of San Antonio, Tex., in the No. 69 Racers Edge Motorsports SIN R1 and Bryce Ward of Seabrook, Tex., in the No. 33 Winward Racing Mercedes-AMG GT4.

The GTS SprintX events on Monday at Lime Rock Park will begin at 9.55 a.m. EDT for Race 1 and 2:25 p.m. EDT for Race 2.