Alegra Motorsports Porsche Duo Pumpelly/Christensen Win GT SprintX Round 5; Chase/Dalziel Take TruSpeed Autosport Audi to Pro/Am Category Win

Vilander/Molina (Ferrari), Hargrove/Henzler (Porsche) Complete GT Podium

LAKEVILLE, Conn. – Outstanding strategy paid off for the Porsche tandem of Spencer Pumpelly and Michael Christensen Monday at Lime Rock Park with an impressive 2.759-second victory in the No. 24 Alegra Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R at the Pirelli World Challenge Grand Prix of Lime Rock powered by M.

Pumpelly, a GT SprintX winner last year at Lime Rock Park from Atlanta, played a smart first stint in the 60-minute, two-driver Round 5 event and turned the Porsche over to Denmark’s Christensen in second place. A quick pit stop and strong laps by Christensen put the Alegra Motorsports machine in the lead and extended the advantage to four seconds over the No. 61 RFerri Motorsports Ferrari 488 GT3 with ten minutes remaining the 64-lap GT SprintX feature.

On the restart, Christensen enjoyed the advantage over Miguel Molina of Spain in the last seven laps to win the Alegra’s first PWC race of the year.

Molina was joined by veteran Toni Vilander of Finland in the No. 16 RFerri Motorsport Ferrari followed by the GT overall point leader Scott Hargrove of Canada, teaming with Germany’s Wolf Henzler, in the No. 96 Pfaff Motorsports/Castrol Porsche 911 GT3 R.

Rounding out the top-five were the No. 9 K-PAX Racing Bentley Continental GT3 of Alvaro Parente of Portugal and Andy Soucek of Spain, and the No. 19 TruSpeed Autosport Audi R8 LMS GT3 car of 17-year-old Parker Chase of New Braunfels, Tex., and veteran Ryan Dalziel of Scotland.

The Chase/Dalziel duo also captured the Pro/Am division Monday.

Sixth overall was the No. 2 CRP Racing/DeVilbiss Mercedes-AMG GT3 with drivers Daniel Morad of Canada and Switzerland’s Rafahelle Marciello. Marciello, in his first Lime Rock Park appearance, set the fast race laps (51.686 second, 102.66 m.p.h.) and will start on the pole in GT SprintX Round 6 Monday set for 4:35 p.m. EDT.