Ryan Eversley Scores TCR Pole Position Friday at Lime Rock Park; Kenny Murillo Takes Mazda to TCA Pole

LAKEVILLE, Conn. – Veteran sports car star Ryan Eversley of Atlanta, Ga., dominated the TCR qualifying round Friday in his No. 43 RealTime Racing Honda Civic Type-R sedan at Lime Rock Park in the Pirelli World Challenge Grand Prix of Lime Rock powered by M.

Eversley, the multi-time GT race winner in PWC, easily scored the pole position Friday afternoon with a best lap of 53.429 seconds for an average speed of 99.31 miles per hour in the TCR qualifying session to pace the 13-car field at the historic 1.5-mile, seven-turn road circuit.

Eversley is the current TCR point leader after winning the TCR Round 3 race winner at VIR and led the Bryan Herta Autosport with Curb/Agajanian Hyundai i30 N pair of Mark Wilkins of Mulmur, Ont., Canada, and Michael Lewis of Laguna Beach., Calif., in Lime Rock Park qualifying. Wilkins, in the No. 99 BHA Hyundai i30 N TCR, clocked the second best TCR time at 53.816 seconds (98.60 m.p.h.) and Lewis, in the No. 98 BHA Hyundai i30 N TCR, took third with a 53.859 second run (98.52 m.p.h.).

Completing the top-five in Friday TCR qualifying was Mason Flippi of Alamo, Calif., in the No. 12 TFB Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR with a 54.823 (96.79 m.p.h.) and Michael Hurczyn in the No. 71 FCP Euro by HRP Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR at 54.828 seconds (96.78 m.p.h.).

Sixth went to former TCA series champion Matthew Fassnacht of Lancaster, Pa., in the Fooji/Murillo Racing Audi Sport RS3 LMS followed Anthony Geraci of Glen Head, N.Y., in the Heinlein Racing Development Audi Sport RS3 LMS, Nate Vincent of Pomfret, Conn., in the No. 72 FCP Euro by HRP Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR, Jerimy Daniel of Montreal, Que., Canada, in the No. 2 The Racing Company Audi Sport RS3 LMS and Brian Ortiz of Puerto Rico in the No. 18 Copeland Motorsports Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR.

Race 1 for TCR/TCA is schedule for Saturday at 10:50 a.m. EDT with Race 2 at 3:35 pm EDT.

In the TCA class, young Kenny Murillo of Santa Rosa, Calif., drove his Murillo Racing Mazda Global MX5 Cup car to the pole with a 58.761 second lap at an average of 90.30 m.p.h.

Close behind Murillo was another young driver in Tom O’Gorman of Mason, Ohio, in the No. 94 TOMO Racing Honda Civic Si with a time of 58.895 seconds (90.09 m.p.h.) followed by current point leader Eric Powell also of Atlanta in the No. 95 TechSport Racing Subaru BRZ tS at 59.345 (89.41 m.p.h.), Jeff Sexton of Austin, Tex., in the No. 89 TechSport Racing Subaru BRZ tS at 59.719 (88.85 m.p.h.) (89.30 m.p.h.), Travis Washey of nearly Milford, Conn., in the No. 30 Indian Summer Racing Volkswagen Golf GTI at 59.860 (88.64 m.p.h.) and 2017 TCB series champion P.J. Groenke of Richmond Hill, Ont., Canada, in the No. 25 TechSport Racing Subaru BRZ tS at 59.973 (88.47 m.p.h.).