Purpose: The purpose of the Pirelli World Challenge® Championships is to provide teams, manufacturers and aftermarket suppliers a competitive production-based race series in which to prove their products.

Race Length: For GT, GTA, GT Cup, and GTS classes, there is a 50-minute maximum time limit for every race, with the number of laps and total distance being determined by track configuration, lap times and race conditions. For TCR, TC and TCA, races will be 40 minutes in length. SprintX races are scheduled for a maximum of 60 minutes.

Homologation of Vehicles: All Vehicles in any class need to be first listed on the PWC form “APPENDIX A”. This outlines the manufacturer, model, and year of vehicle along with the current base weight, restrictor or boost limit and mandated tires. Other restrictions may also be listed.

For GT, the vehicle must also have an approved FIA GT3 or G3 homologation. The GTS class must have an approved SRO GT4 or PWC-approved homologation. TCR cars must be homologated by TCR. Touring Car along with additionally supported classes by WC Vision must have an approved PWC Homologation.

ALL vehicles must also conform to the minimum listed safety regulations for their class including minimum safety equipment to be worn by the driver.

Eligibility: FIA / SRO vehicles are permitted until the expiration of the homologation. WC homologations will expire when a vehicle’s body style has been out of production throughout North America for more than five years. WC reserves the right to extend homologations.

Adjustments of Performance (BoP): The WCV Competition Board reserves the right to make necessary changes to the Balance of Performance in order to ensure parity. Requests for changes to the Appendix A and PWC homologations must be made in writing using the BOP Process form on the Series Website.

Manufacturers’ Championship Points: Only those car manufacturers that are members of the Manufacturer’s Council are eligible to receive points toward the Manufacturers’ Championship. Points are awarded to a manufacturer based on driver finishing positions in each eligible class, and earned by the highest-placed overall finishing driver for that particular manufacturer (in each class for multiclass races.) Points are disbursed as follows: 1st – 10 points, 2nd – 8 points, 3rd – 7 points, 4th – 6 points 5th – 5 points, 6th – 4 points, 7th – 3 points, 8th – 2 points, 9th – 1 point. One (1) manufacturer point will be awarded to the manufacturer of the car qualifying for pole position in each class. Ties in the final point standings in any of the Championships will be decided based upon the number of first place finishes in class; then, if necessary, the number of second place finishes, etc. The Manufacturers’ Championship will be awarded for GT Classes Overall (Sprint and SprintX), Sprint GTS, TCR, TC, and TCA for 2018.

Drivers’ Championship Points: Points are awarded for each race based on the final OFFICIAL results. Any reduction in points from penalties will be applied or listed separately. The points breakdown is shown below.

All competitors are eligible for overall driver points based on official race results for the top 20 positions in each class. Overall points earned by a competitor are not subject to driver categorization (Pro, Am). These points count towards the overall championship regardless of the class and driver category entered.

Sprint events (GT, GTS, TC classes): All entries will be scored combined/overall. In addition, Am entries (sub classification) will also earn points on a separate tally specific to the Am championship.

SprintX (GT, GT Cup, GTS): All entries will be scored combined/overall. In addition, GT Pro-Am and Am entries (sub classifications) will earn points on a separate tally specific to the Pro-Am and Am championship. GTS Am entries (sub classification) will earn points on a separate tally specific to the Am championship. Points will be applied equally to both drivers of a car based on the final race classification by class and driver categorization.

Drivers earn points specific to their pairing category (Pro-Pro, Pro-Am, Am). Drivers that change pairing categories (for example, a driver in Pro-Pro pairing moves to Pro-Am pairing) will be considered a NEW entry for the pairing category they moved to. Points will not transfer between pairing categories.

Sprint events (TCR, TCA, TCA classes): All entries will be scored by class.

1st – 25 pts. 2nd – 23 pts. 3rd – 21 pts. 4th – 19 pts. 5th – 17 pts. 6th – 15 pts. 7th – 14 pts. 8th – 13 pts. 9th – 12 pts. 10th -11 pts. 11th – 10 pts. 12th – 9 pts. 13th – 8 pts. 14th – 7 pts. 15th – 6 pts. 16th – 5 pts. 17th – 4 pts. 18th – 3 pts. 19th – 2 pts. 20th – 1 pt.

Team Championship: Annual awards honoring the teams having the highest championship point total in each class for the season. The highest finishing car for each team will accumulate points for that team for that particular race. Team championship follows the same points structure as the driver points, but there will be no additional team point for Pole Position.

Rookie of the Year: Rookie of the Year honors the rookie(s) with the most Drivers’ Championship points in the GTS, TCR, TC and TCA classes at the end of the season. To be eligible for Rookie status, a driver may have competed in no more than four (4) Pirelli World Challenge races (in any category). They must also have not podiumed in other championships of a similar level of the class they are applying for rookie status for. The Rookie program is to recognize drivers that are early in their racing careers. Eligibility is subject to approval by PWC, who will take into account ALL previous racing experience. Any driver wishing to be considered for ROOKIE status MUST submit a racing resume of or competition activity to PWC Series Business Manager before being considered.

Jim Cook Memorial Trophy: An annual award honoring the memory of James Edwin Cook (1939-1985) is presented at season’s end to an entrant/driver who has made significant contributions to the overall success of the SCCA Pro Racing World Challenge Championships through promotional activities and a consistent display of good character and sportsmanship. The award was started during the Endurance Championship era. Previous winners were Tommy Morrison (1985), Rick Hurst (1986), Dave Wolin (1987), Steve Saleen (1988), Tommy Archer (1989), Doc Bundy, Scott Lagasse and Lotus USA (1990), Lotus USA (1991), Doug Rippie/Dieline (1992), Chris Neville (1993), Kermit Upton III (1994), David Rosenblum (1995), Saleen/Allen Racing (1996), RealTime Racing (1997), DC Sports (1998), Turner Motorsport (1999), Team Tech Racing/Scott Bove (2000), Phil McClure (2001), Rod Bymaster/Audi (2002), Jim Osborn (2003), Tim Wiens (2004), Jon Groom (2005), Dave Spitzer, Team Cadillac (2006), World Challenge paddock (2007), Bob Woodhouse (2008), Andy Pilgrim (2009), Eric Meyer (2010), James Sofronas (2011), Randy Pobst (2012), Jack Baldwin (2013), Andy Lee (2014), Mark Klenin (2015), Tony Gaples (2016), and Lawson Aschenbach (2017).

Zimmermann Cup: An annual award presented in the memory of multi-time Championship winning crew chief Jerome Zimmermann (1967-2003) at season’s end to the crew chief that best exemplifies the similar passion, dedication and success Zimmermann had in the SCCA Pro Racing World Challenge. Past winners include: Dax Raub/3R-Racing (2003), Jason Marks/Bimmerworld (2004), Tivadar Heinlein/Jon Groom Racing (2005), Louis Gigliotti Jr./LG Motorsports (2006), Nathan Bonneau/RealTime Racing (2007), Chris Tindol, Tindol Motorsports (2008), Chris Willes/ACS Express Racing (2009), Rick Maxwell/Woodhouse Performance (2010), Nic Short/CRP Racing (2011), Bob Raub, K-PAX Racing (2012), Ray Sorenson, Blackdog Speed Shop (2013), Bob Sanderson, GTSport Racing (2014), Enrico Diano, R. Ferri Motorsports (2015), Ian Willis, AIM Autosport (2016), Neville Agass, GMG Racing (2017).